048: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Title: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Author: J. K. Rowling
Stars: ★★★★★

Blurb: It is the summer holidays and soon Harry Potter will be starting his fourth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry is counting the days: there are new spells to be learnt, more Quidditch to be played, and Hogwarts castle to continue exploring. But Harry needs to be careful – there are unexpected dangers lurking…

Review:

“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.” 

I fucking love this book! This may actually be my favourite book ever, not just in the series.

Which actually makes it rather difficult for me to review as I’m still not used to writing a review that doesn’t require any nitpicking from me. So, instead, I’m going to try talking about the things I love.

The Quidditch World Cup – I personally adored these scenes as it felt like I was there with them experiencing the highs and lows of the match. It’s also where we’re first introduced to Krum and I freaking love that guy! I’m forever bitter that the movies cut this out as it would’ve been amazing to see. Then again, I’m forever bitter about the movies in general.

The Triwizard Tournament – I found this a nice break from the last three books that were very much almost like a standard year at schools; apart from the magic and the petrified students in Chamber of Secrets. (I’d say having a murderer on the loose wouldn’t be a standard year but I live in a rough area of the UK so it kinda was.) My personal favourite task was definitely the first one.

The atmosphere – I know that I said in my Prisoner review that it started getting darker then but this book really ups the ante. We have our first ‘on screen’ (on page?) death, we see the Death Eaters for the first time and of course, the return of Lord Voldemort. To me, this book really changes the tone into a more adult book then the child books that the series were initially perceived to be.

There is probably a thousand things I’m forgetting but if I don’t stop at these three things then this review will end up ten thousand words long. The only other thing I must add is that this is the first book that made me cry and even seventeen years later I find myself getting teary at the end.

Facebook | Twitter

(Yes, you get two posts today! I need to clear out some of my reviews!)

Leave a Reply

