045: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

464164Title: Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Author: J. K. Rowling
Stars: ★★★★☆

Blurb: Harry Potter, along with his best friends, Ron and Hermione, is about to start his third year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Harry can’t wait to get back to school after the summer holidays. (Who wouldn’t if they lived with the horrible Dursleys?) But when Harry gets to Hogwarts, the atmosphere is tense. There’s an escaped mass murderer on the loose, and the sinister prison guards of Azkaban have been called in to guard the school…

Review:

“Why, dear boy, we don’t send wizards to Azkaban just for blowing up their aunts.” 

You know, I’m surprised because when I do my annual Harry Potter re-read I usually always skip books 1 & 2 and jump straight to this one but I don’t actually think it’s as good as Chamber of Secrets! Which is strange because Prisoner was always my third favourite book.

However on this read through I found that the book seemed to be a lot slower than what I remembered and many times I had to resist the urge to skip ahead. I feel there was a lot of stuff packed into this one and it made the book feel bloated and sluggish. Yes, this book also introduces two of my favourite characters but it’s still not enough to bump it up to five stars!

Despite saying all that though I feel that this is still a great book and a great start at turning the series darker. When I was a kid I did feel genuinely scared at some parts and even as an adult the Dementors still give me the creeps!

Overall, not the best in the series but it’s still a good solid novel and, to me, a classic.

Facebook | Twitter

Leave a Reply

