037: How to Train Your Dragon by Cressida Cowell

How_to_Train_Your_Dragon_First_Edition_CoverTitle: How to Train Your Dragon
Author: Cressida Cowell
Stars: ★★★☆☆

Blurb: THE STORY BEGINS in the first volume of Hiccup’s How to Train Your Dragon memoirs…
Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III was an awesome sword-fighter, a dragon-whisperer and the greatest Viking Hero who ever lived. But it wasn’t always like that. In fact, in the beginning, Hiccup Horrendous Haddock III was the most put upon Viking you’d ever seen. Not loud enough to make himself heard at dinner with his father, Stoick the Vast; not hard enough to beat his chief rival, Snotlout, at Bashyball, the number one school sport and CERTAINLY not stupid enough to go into a cave full of dragons to find a pet… It’s time for Hiccup to learn how to be a Hero.

Pre-Review:
Real life sucks, hence why this post is so late. I’ve also decided to stop doing the fancy pictures as I’m rapidly running out of ideas for them. I’m also fully aware that this review isn’t all that great but I’ve been burnt out lately.

Review:
It took me a long time to read this book and I’m not sure why as I did enjoy it. I think I might just be a little bit burnt out on reading.

On the kindle version I couldn’t make notes as there are illustrations so the format is fixed. Normally I wouldn’t mind as I like illustrations in books, however it took me so long to read this that I’ve forgotten most of the stuff that happened at the start.

I only started reading this as I loved the films and I need to start a collection of potential bedtime stories for when my stepson begins to sleep over. However, this may be another rare example where I actually prefer the films? Sorry! (Stardust is the only other example, in case you were wondering.)

Saying all that however, I did enjoy it but more so at the end than at the beginning. I think it’ll be suitable as a bedtime story as it’s obviously aimed at a younger audience.

So, yeah, overall, I did like it but I found the beginning a bit slow and it’s nothing like the film which was a bit of a bummer.

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Leave a Reply

