024: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

28963439Title: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
Author: J.K. Rowling
Stars: ★★★★★

Blurb: “Turning the envelope over, his hand trembling, Harry saw a purple wax seal bearing a coat of arms; a lion, an eagle, a badger and a snake surrounding a large letter ‘H’.”

Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive. Addressed in green ink on yellowish parchment with a purple seal, they are swiftly confiscated by his grisly aunt and uncle. Then, on Harry’s eleventh birthday, a great beetle-eyed giant of a man called Rubeus Hagrid bursts in with some astonishing news: Harry Potter is a wizard, and he has a place at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. An incredible adventure is about to begin!

Review:

So after waking up at half two in the morning after a series of three awfully horrific nightmares which was immediately followed by a news alert on my phone that had me thinking WW3 was here, it was safe to say I was in no fit state to sleep.

Bearing that in mind, I remembered that I had a free trial to claim on Audible (which really isn’t worth £8 a month in my opinion) and as I browsed the books I had an urge to listen to something familiar and comforting. Therefore Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone it was!

Stephen Fry, who I’m not a fan of, narrates the audiobook. Despite not being a fan, I must say that his voice is soothing and I soon found my worries drifting away and I was asleep before the first chapter had finished.

I’m not sure what to say about the book that hasn’t been said before. Obviously as this is like the hundredth time I’ve read (well, listened to) the book I knew the twists and turns that were coming but it’s still a nice, fun read.

This was my first experience with an audiobook and I’m not sure if I like it or not. Sure, it’s soothing and frees my hands up so I can eat and surf the internet without stopping the story but each chapter takes about half an hour to read and I know that if I’d read HP and the Philosopher’s Stone I’d have managed to finish it a lot quicker.

Overall, Harry Potter is a classic and while I may not like J.K. Rowling’s most recent money grabs (Cursed Child, 5 Fantastic Beast films, etc.) it’s easy to see why a whole generation of children fell in love with these books.

I guess Hogwarts will always be my home ❤

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

5 thoughts on “024: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

  1. This is so random of me to comment but I have to tell you that I just came across your blog and that I love it! Honestly, you have a lovely website here and I am so happy I have discovered it! I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your posts. Keep up the great work!

    Like

      1. Aww you are so welcome! You have a wonderful blog. Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I just made accounts and would love to follow you! Oh and no problem at all that happens to me too, so glad you saw it now though and aww thanks so much! Can’t wait to see what you post next!

        Like

Leave a Reply

