019: I See You by Clare Mackintosh

Title: I See You
Author: Clare Mackintosh
Stars: ★★★★☆

Blurb: You do the same thing every day.
You know exactly where you’re going.
You’re not alone.

When Zoe Walker sees her photo in the classifieds section of a London newspaper, she is determined to find out why it’s there. There’s no explanation: just a website, a grainy image and a phone number. She takes it home to her family, who are convinced it’s just someone who looks like Zoe. But the next day the advert shows a photo of a different woman, and another the day after that.

Is it a mistake? A coincidence? Or is someone keeping track of every move they make

Review:

I’ve wanted to read this book for ages and received it as part of my first Book & a Brew box.

It’s a thriller/mystery, which I don’t tend to read very often but when I do I tend to enjoy them. I See You was no exception, hence the four stars, however it took me a long while to get into it.

You see, I thought the plot was going to get going straight away, especially after Zoe saw her photo in the first chapter but then it took a while to actually get going. I also disliked how Zoe’s chapters were in first person but then Kelly’s were in third. I don’t have a problem with two protagonists but I didn’t like the POV changes.

My other gripe is about the names in the book. We’ve got Kelly and Katie, Neil and Nick and also Melissa and Megan. There’s even a one-off character called Nigel, just to confuse things even more.

There’s a lot of details that seem to bog the story down, such as family arguments and what seems to be pointless conversations, obviously a lot of this stuff makes sense later on in the story but it’s hard to slog through.

There seemed to be a lot of flashbacks too which made sense during Kelly’s chapters but not so much during Zoe’s, in fact Zoe’s would bug me a little.

A lot of the characters are totally unlikeable, especially Graham! I even made a special note in my book that just says ‘Graham is a total dick!’

However, I did like the fact that the police is honest about how terrible women are treated by the police, particularly when it comes to reporting stalking and harassment.

I also liked the various twists too, it kept me on the edge of my toes and when the book did pick up I quickly rushed through it wanting to find out what was going to happen.

But that epilogue!! I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone who hasn’t read the book yet but my God, that epilogue makes me want a follow up book so bad!!

Overall, I liked it but I wish that the action had started sooner. Now, go read this book!

Leave a Reply

