016: Room by Emma Donoghue

Title: Room

Author: Emma Donoghue

Stars: ★★★☆☆

Blurb: It’s Jack’s birthday and he’s excited about turning five. Jack lives with his Ma in Room, which has a locked door and a skylight, and measures 11 feet by 11 feet. He loves watching TV but he knows that nothing he sees on screen is truly real. Until the day Ma admits that there’s a world outside.

Review: This is the book that made me start my ‘is it me?’ shelf on Goodreads because I really really wanted to like this book and it just felt average to me. My friend described it as ‘heartbreaking’ and that I’d be really upset by it so maybe it was my fault for setting my hopes too high. I’m not saying that I hated the book, because I didn’t, I wanted to keep reading and to find out what happens, but I just felt let down.

I decided to read the book instead of watching the movie because I thought the movie would be too upsetting and I’m glad I read the book first because now I know what to expect. I already knew the basics: kidnapping, mother and child kept in captivity etc. but there is one aspect that I hadn’t realised…

The escape.

Sure, it was widely unbelievable but I think because I didn’t know it was going to happen I could almost believe it? If that makes sense? Honestly, I don’t think there’s any way that Jack could’ve pulled off the escape like he did but I was so glad to get away from the Room that I can overlook certain things about it.

However, I was hoping that Jack’s precociousness would be brought down after escaping. There was a massive problem considering the consistency of how intelligent he was. He knew big words and works of art, such as “Great Masterpieces of Western Art No. 3: The Virgin and Child with St. Anne and St. John the Baptist” but only two pages before that he’d said: “To sick me like when I was three with throw-up and diarrhea?”

How does he know the word for diarrhea but instead of using the word ‘vomiting’ he says “sick me” instead. Unless of course I’m reading it wrong and he was just poorly instead of being sick.

Speaking of poorly, I’m currently sick so if this review makes no sense then I apologise, I just wanted to get it wrote so I could move onto the next book.

So a short review this time, but overall I liked it, I think. I’m giving it three stars because two seems too low really. I might read it again in a couple of years but I probably not again this year.

The thing that seemed to bother me the most was I felt like Jack should’ve been a little bit older because five year olds are exhausting, in person and in fiction but precocious ones are even worse.

Not sure what book is coming up next as I am going back to bed to sleep off this “sick me”.

Leave a Reply

