015: Stepbrother with Benefits 1 by Mia Clark

Title: Stepbrother with Benefits
Author: Mia Clark
Stars: ★☆☆☆☆

Blurb: Rule #1 – It’s only supposed to last for a week…

Ethan is a cocky, arrogant jerk. He’s always been that way. Why do girls trip over their own feet just to be with him? I don’t know! I’ll never understand it. Don’t they realize he’s just going to ditch them after a couple of weeks? 

Yes, he can be nice when he wants to be. It’s true that he’s ridiculously attractive, too. It’s not like I want to stare at him when he walks around shirtless, but it’s hard not to notice someone like him. He’s got that bad boy smile that makes you want to… 

Did I mention he’s my stepbrother? Ick. 

What? You think I’m falling for him? Nope! It’s impossible.

Review:

I started to have my doubts about this book when I opened it on my Kindle and saw that I was already 5% of the way through. My enthusiasm sunk even more when the next page took me to 6%. Upon realising there was about 20 books in this series made me want to put it down and just ignore it.

However, I did get it for free on Kindle Unlimited and I figured that I should at least try to read it before my free trial ran out. I’m so glad I didn’t have to pay for this.

Be prepared because I hated this book more than anything. I was hoping for a light-hearted slightly taboo romance… what I got instead was this! Jesus wept.

The book itself finishes at 94% on my Kindle so personally; I wouldn’t count this as a full story. It’s a short story that took my too bloody long to read. I was making notes the whole way through and I intended to go back and check them to write this review. However, I’m not sure how unbiased I can be when most of the notes either read “I hate this guy” or “kill me” but I can try.

Starting with the positives… well, the book is short, and that’s about the most positive thing I can say about it.

I can’t help but feel that maybe it’s me? Maybe I just don’t get the whole splitting up a normal length book into three thousand* shorter ones**?

Is it me? Am I out of touch?

WhSiMvz

The whole erotica genre seems to be full to the brim of asshole rich alphas and they wear me out. You could change Ethan’s name to Christian or Gideon and it’d be pretty much the same dialogue.

Speaking of dialogue, I found it downright unrealistic in some places. I mean, I couldn’t take anyone seriously if they spoke like this in real life:

(1) “…You’re still mine right now. Yeah, that’s a good girl. Fuck, you’re so sensitive…”

(2) “Wait, you’re on birth control, right? I thought you were.”

“Well, yes, I am. Wait a second… how would you know?”

There’s sections too where the writing just seems so juvenile and my God, the repetition. The fucking repetition. The constant repeating of things.

I’m surprised no one has mentioned the misogyny and rampant sexism either. All Ethan thinks about is swearing (‘fuckfuckfuckfuck’) and women’s genitalia (‘pussypussypussypussy’). He barely thinks of the woman herself, just her bits. At one point when Ashley is crying about her ex-boyfriend she looks up at Ethan who looks straight into her eyes and thinks:

They’re the kind of eyes you want looking up at you when you get a blowjob. A little coy, kind of cute, except she’s got your cock in her mouth, so that kind of shoves the coy cuteness out of the window, now doesn’t it?

Our hero, ladies and gentlemen. There are also references to him lifting skirts and him being a sex fiend since the second grade… so seven or eight? Gross. There’s also a strange bit where Ethan calls Hawaiian pizza ‘girly’?? I have no idea either.

Ashley herself isn’t any better in the internalised misogyny area either as she calls the women that have sex with Ethan “dumb cheerleaders” and how she’s suppose to be smart and not act like “…one of those bimbo girls…”

There is so much more I could say about this book but I’m trying to keep my blood pressure low. I haven’t even mentioned Ashley’s creepy, awful ex-boyfriend or how the fact it feels like Ethan takes advantage of a drunk, emotional Ashley while still appearing sober his self.

Do I really need to do a small ‘overall’ paragraph like I usually do? Okay, overall, I wish I could give this zero stars and burn it from my memory. I do not recommend it to anyone, not even my worse enemy. Thank god I got it for free.

*I know it’s not literally three thousand books.

**I know it’s to make more money.

 

One thought on “015: Stepbrother with Benefits 1 by Mia Clark

Leave a Reply

