014: The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

2892159Title: The Last Wish
Author: Andrzej Sapkowski
Stars: ★★★★★

Blurb: Geralt was always going to stand out, with his white hair and piercing eyes, his cynicism and lack of respect for authority … but he is far more than a striking-looking man. He’s a witcher, with powers that make him a brilliant fighter and a merciless assassin – his targets are the vile fiends that ravage the land.

As guardian of the innocent, Geralt meets incestuous kings with undead daughters, vengeful djinns, shrieking harpies, lovelorn vampires and despondent ghouls. Many are pernicious, some are merely, and none are quite as they appear.

Review: Yes, you read that correctly, 5 stars!

I absolutely adored this book! I stayed up until three am reading and then woke myself up at half seven so I could carry on reading it. This will be a totally biased review because The Last Wish is easily my new favourite book.

The Last Wish is a selection of short stories that are honestly truly magical and almost fairytale like. In other books I’ve read and reviewed there has been sections that I haven’t liked, however, I liked everything in The Last Wish.

I do try to find something to criticise in every book that I read, because I am a picky bitch that’s never pleased with anything, so I’m going to have to go for something that I moan about in every fantasy book I read: the names.

Obviously the author is Polish so normally I’d let the names slide because names that I find strange may be a common name in Poland. Truly, it’s not all the fantasy names that bother me; it’s on the rare occasion that one sounds similar to another name that has been previously mentioned.

Like I said, I have a thing about names in fantasy so that’s just a minor, minor, nitpick.

I enjoyed the atmosphere of the book too. Part of me felt like I was actually there in the different forests and towns that Geralt visits. However, I’m unsure if that’s because of how much I love the book or how much I love The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt.

Many thanks should be given to my wonderful boyfriend, Adam, who has been begging me to read and review this book ever since I started blogging again properly. He told me that I had to give it five stars or I’d get no more kisses but I didn’t actually need to be bribed because I really did enjoy it.

Now take a guess at who has to buy the rest of the books in the series so that I can read the rest? One clue: not me!

P.s any thoughts on the new style of reviewing? I thought I’d try to switch things up a bit.

Leave a Reply

