011: Before You Sleep by Adam Neville

31671257★★★★★

3 horror stories that I decided to read while having a Sunday drink… probably not the best idea.

Where Angels Come In – ⋆⋆⋆⋆⋆

I’m probably going to have nightmares after this story. The writing was very real, almost too real. It was like I could hear the horrible noises and see the horrible images myself. It genuinely freaked me out and makes me want to stay away from every abandoned place possible. The descriptions alone are what nightmares are made of! I’m honestly struggling to put into words how good this short story was.

The Ancestors – ⋆⋆⋆⋆

This one first reminded me of a spooky version of Toy Story mixed with The Ring and I thought to myself, “oh, I know how this is going to end.”

No, I didn’t. While this wasn’t as scary as WACI I still found myself getting slightly scared and I know that if a future child of mine ever has an imaginary friend or weird toys then I’ll probably still think of this story.

Florrie – ⋆⋆⋆⋆

The final story in this collection starts off slow but soon picks up on the creepiness. While it wasn’t my favourite I could see why it was for other people. There was definitely a lot more character building but I did find it to be a bit rushed. I think that’s because it was a short story but I do feel it would’ve benefited more as a novella instead. Don’t get me wrong though, I did enjoy it but that was my little nitpick for this review.

Overall, I really did enjoy this collection. Would I read another one of Adam Neville’s books? No, but not because he’s not good, but because he scares me too much! If you’re a fan of horror then I would definitely recommend this. If you’re a scaredy cat then I wouldn’t. However, I’m off to read something less scary so that I don’t have nightmares tonight.

Leave a Reply

